Best cheap 5 person tent: Reviews and buying advice 1

Best cheap 5 person tent: Reviews and buying advice

Are you looking for cheap 5 person tent ?. Here are our pick for cheap 5 person tent. You can quickly check the list below and scroll down for the detail list to read more detail about the product and reviews from other customers.

Quick list for comparison:

Detail List for cheap 5 person tent:

Toogh 10' x 9' 6 Person Camping Big Horn Tent Waterproof Backpacking Double Layer Tents for Outdoor Sports -Center Height 74in [Blue] Provide Top Rainfly, Advanced Venting Design

$85.90  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap 5 person tent: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of January 3, 2020 2:35 pm

Features

Product Dimensions118 x 112 x 74 inches ; 15 pounds
Shipping Weight15.8 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Toogh- 5-6 Person Family Camping Tent,The most trusted outdoor gear brand in America! Large space: This Tent can accommodate at least 6 adults.Base Size: 11ft x 10ft, Center Height: 74in, Product Dimensions: 92 x 85 x 73 inches Exsquisent package including: 1 tent, 1 rainfly, 8 aluminum ground...

User reviews

 I purchased this camping tent for my upcoming outdoor trip. This is everything I need. Very easy to setup. Very light weight and quality of the material is good. Impressive ceiling for ventilation. 6 people will fit easily in this tent. Height is prefect for the adult to stand. I am really impressed with the design. Happy with my purchase.
I have used many different types and sizes of tents. I would have to say this one is great. It is lightweight for it's very generous size, this is due to the bug netting that covers the majority of the two sidewalls and back wall. This also allows plenty of airflow for those hot days. The rainfly is great as well, it covers everything it needs to and has a pole that gives a bit of an overhang at the entrance. The tent itself has just two poles that cross in the center much like a dome tent except that it is more like a cabin tent. The tent is very spacious it gives plenty of room for five or six people. It's like a mansion for four or less people. It has a double pocket on either side as well as a net that suspends the top for added storage. There is also a spot to hang a light or fan from in the middle if the storage net is not used. Like other tents it's poles and stakes have thier own bags and the main bag is big enough so that when repacking the tent it fits easily. Overall it's a great lightweight tent suitable for spring summer and fall. Probably one of my favorite tents I have had the honor of using.
 Awesome tent that is able to fit 5-6 people! And one of the cool parts is that this is blue, which I like. But I don't know what the color blue is able to do with the outside world since you're going to be outside. Do bears like the color blue? I don't know. Always do your research before hiking. And please be safe out there. Next, the tent is quite sturdy and rather easy to put up, remember to have some people help you out when you need it!

View all reviews

Coleman Sundome Tent

$38.22  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap 5 person tent: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of January 3, 2020 2:35 pm

Features

Shipping InformationView shipping rates and policies

The Coleman Sundome 4, 9'x7', dome tent is part of the classic Sundome series of tents from Coleman. The Sundome 4 sleeps 4 happy campers and includes a large door for easy entry/exit with a hooded fly to provide ventilation even in rain. A large rear hooded window also provides airflow for cross...

User reviews

My girlfriend and I just got back from Electric Forest. It was my first time using this tent. It was super windy and was raining buckets to the point where there were inches of standing water outside the tent (see photo). Without even treating it with campdry or any sealant, we were bone dry and cozy in this tent for five days, and we only had the rain fly on and a tarp that covered about half the tent. It is a freaking TANK! Been camping my whole life and never had a tent this waterproof. It's also super breathable even with the rain fly and a tarp; the little vent near the bottom is a great feature. Do yourself a favor and get this tent and a big tarp to go over it, and maybe a drop cloth to protect the bottom, and I promise you'll be dry in any storm. Plus, bonus points for being super easy to set up, and tall enough to stand in! Can't wait to use this tent again, it's better than any of the more expensive tents I've ever used.Tip for getting it back in the bag:Fold in half longways. Then fold in thirds longways. Then roll 🙂 rain fly just folded a few times and rolled and had no problems getting it all back in the bag.
Great tent. I set it up in my backyard, to give it a trial run (and seam seal) before taking it out camping. There are pros and cons...Pros:Carry bag - the tent comes neatly packed in a carry bag, with tent, poles, rain fly, ground stakes, door mat, and instructions.Setup - Easy. Set up by myself, with rain fly, in under 15 minutes. Didn't have to look at the directions. Only suggestion would be to put the word "front" somewhere on the rain fly to indicate which way it goes. However, a quick glance at the packaging will tell you.Materials - the tent material seems to be of good quality, and should hold up well when taken care of. The zippers are not heavy duty, but i see no issues with them. The floor is heavy duty tarp material.Screens - the tent has large screen panels on the "ceiling", which makes for a great view when the rain fly is not on. There is an additional window, and screen on the door for extra viewing and airflow.Floor Vent - there is a vent near the rear of the tent, which allows for additional airflow.Cord access - there is a small zippered panel in the front corner, that let's you run an extension cord into the tent.Other "Pros":I got the Navy/Grey tent, and the colors are cool. Got some compliments from the neighbors on it. I like that the rain fly comes with the guy lines already attached. The interior gear pockets are fine, good for holding your phone. Wouldn't stuff them with anything heavy. There is a little "ring" at the center of the ceiling, to hang a small light. While you could technically fit 2 queen air mattresses, I would not. It leaves no floor space for gear. I will put in one mattress, and leave the other half of the tent for my kids Pack n' Play, and gear. It will fit the 3 of us comfortably. However, unless you intend to get cozy, I wouldn't advise this for 4 adults (but it could be done).Cons:Stakes - the stakes are just ok...they are the generic skinny steel ones. I would recommend spending an extra $10 bucks and buy some good ones.Footprint - the tent doesn't come with a footprint, though I imagine this helps keep the cost so low. Not a big deal, I use a tarp anyways.Door Screen - the upper half of the door can be unzipped to reveal the screen window. I really would have liked if the entire door could be screen, not just the top half.I also purchased some Coleman Seam Sealer, and sealed all the seams inside the tent, and the rain fly. Some of the seams are taped, but it's just good practice to spend the time to do this, no matter what brand/cost/etc tent you have. It saves headache down the road.Overall, I'm very pleased with the tent, and the cost. It will work well for short camping trips with a small family, couple, or individual.
Our first tent was an enormous Montana 8 person tent that used 6 poles and took 45 minutes to set up properly. Our second tent was an instant double hub dome tent that had permanent poles that kept flipping upside down making it impossible to set up. (We returned that one.) This tent, however, is no-nonsense. Two poles to put the tent up. One extra pole to hold the rainfly up. We put the tent up in a Florida thunderstorm in less than 5 minutes. We took another 5 minutes to set the 7 guy lines. I didn't get the opportunity to spray and seam seal the tent since it was raining, but it did not leak through some very powerful Florida rainstorms, except for a few drops around the electrical port zipper. Seal that part especially. The tent moved around and shook through some rough ocean wind, but remained intact. The tent is tall enough to stand up in (6ft tall) with room for a queen sized air mattress and tons of space for your stuff. We had a cooler, a big box fan, and two pieces of luggage in there with room to spare. I would say it's perfect for 2 people, comfortable with 3, claustrophobic with 4, and you'd have to be desperate to fit 5 or 6. There is a port for your electrical cord. Two pockets are attached inside, and a welcome mat was included.Taking the tent down was just as simple. Just fold in half twice, then fold into thirds and roll up. It fit right into the bag with no problems. Easiest tent I've ever dealt with!I'd recommend a 10x10 tarp to go under the tent and a 10x20 tarp to go over it. There are two huge mesh panels on the top of the tent, which is great for ventilation, but bad for sideways rain that can sneak under the rainfly. I put the tarp longways over these vents and it kept out the sideways rain but there was still plenty of ventilation.There is a hook at the top to attach an LED light/fan.It was fantastic for warm/hot weather camping. Might be too much ventilation for late fall camping, though, unless I can figure out a way of blocking those mesh panels.Best tent I've ever owned!

View all reviews

Coleman Dome Tent with Screen Room | Evanston Camping Tent with Screened-In Porch

$199.99
$110.42  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap 5 person tent: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of January 3, 2020 2:35 pm

Features

Product Dimensions28 x 10.2 x 9 inches ; 20.9 pounds
Shipping Weight20.9 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
Domestic ShippingItem can be shipped within U.S.
International ShippingThis item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More
California residentsClick here for Proposition 65 warning.
Item model number2000007825

Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; polyester taffeta 75D; Imported; Spacious 6-person tent has enough room for 2 queen size air beds; Separate screen room offers bug-free lounging. Tub floor with patented corner welds and protected seams help keep water out; WeatherTec system...

User reviews

First things first, this is a Coleman tent, ok? In case you don’t understand what that means, let me explain it for you by telling you what it is NOT. This is not Mountain Hardwear, Marmot, North Face or any big name, high performance brand. It’s Coleman. You buy these at Walmart or Target, not REI. So understand that you make certain sacrifices in quality right off the bat with this tent and to complain about it is like buying a Chevy and getting upset that it doesn’t have the features, craftsmanship, or design of a BMW.That being said, let’s talk about this tent.Here’s what I like: It sets up quickly, tears down just as fast, and you can still get everything back in the carrying bag it came with without giving yourself a hernia from overexerting. With the rainfly off, you get decent (although not great) ventilation for those hot summer nights. It’s roomy. I love the screen porch as an entry to kick shoes off in that greatly minimizes the amount of sand and dirt that ends up inside the tent itself and therefore inside my sleeping bag. The price. For $130, you can’t go wrong.Here’s what doesn’t thrill me: As other reviews mention, the rainfly does jack squat to protect anything in the screened porch from moisture in the event of rain. It will get wet. And the floor will get wet too and will probably pool up water. Which you will likely step in unknowingly in an early morning pre-dawn, coffeeless haze and slip and fall and completely soak yourself when all you were trying to do was to drain your middle aged bladder that can’t make it through one complete night in the flipping woods without waking you up. I mean, maybe you won’t. But someone could. Or did. But definitely not me. But hypothetically, I bet that would suck. Also, the back panel is a completely open screen. With the rainfly on, it provides no additional ventilation and seems pointless. With the fly off, it allows for ventilation but cannot be closed so there is no option for privacy. Then again, you’re in an 8-person tent. You gave up on the concept of privacy the moment you zippered yourself inside this nylon castle with a gaggle of other campers. Oh, and about the 8-person thing: that’s relative. Sure, 8 people if you’re cramming them in. Then again, why stop there? I bet the whole Thai soccer team could fit in this thing. But for us normal, slightly overweight Americans, 8-people is pushing it. I’d say 6 at best, and even then you’ll have to get creative. But I easily fit two queen-sized air mattresses for my four kids and had plenty of room for myself and all of our gear. There would’ve been room for their mother to join us too if she hadn’t run off with her bass player. But I digress... “8-person” is a bit generous.So there you have it. All things considered, this is a pretty good tent. If it got too close to the fire and completely melted, or if a tree fell on it and rendered it useless, I’d buy it again. Probably.
Just camped out in Pocomoke River State Park, Maryland while Hurricane Matthew was battering North Carolina. Our camp site was filled with inches of water, wind was 20-30mph, rain coming from all directions and we were under a flash flood watch. The only thing dry was the inside of my Coleman Evanston tent. Bone dry. Thank you Coleman. Attached picture is take the day after the storm.
I'm a 68 yr old senior who started camping as a child in the '50sI'd like to share my thoughts to any of the "Haters".I pitched this myself in about 25 mins - I don't hurry unless necessaryIt went up in a very conventional dome tent style, though it's a long walk around if the pole comes off the pin(My weathermaster 6 has tight fitting clips for the poles)I think the elastic cord in the poles is "Iffy", given the weight of fiberglass poles, but if any break, they're easy to restring.Most of the tents I've owned get new, better stakes - This one was put up with 8" aluminum "Y" alloys - if I recall 16 of themI installed the fly on the windward side 1st, as any breeze will help pull it over the topJust looking at pics, I knew the porch would get wet, no big dealI knew this isn't a four season tent - My great Marmot Limestone 4 is far better, but sucks in summer unless I leave the rainfly open.This tent is made to ventilate and keep you dry - which it seems to excel at.Overall, if you are respectful to the process of pitching and use, this tent's as good as any and a lot better than some other more expensive tents(I don't know how many tents I've owned over the years (I'm currently @ 10 LOL))They all have a purpose - sub 3lb 1person backpackers to this thing.I'm headed to Minn 8/8/17 for a week, hope it storms (I love storms)Thanx for taking the time to read thisGreg

View all reviews

Browning Camping Big Horn Tent

$229.99
$203.48  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap 5 person tent: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of January 3, 2020 2:35 pm

Features

Shipping Weight22.1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
California residentsClick here for Proposition 65 warning.
Item model number5596699

The Big Horn Tent Series from Browning Camping gives a whole new meaning to home away from home! Using fiberglass poles and steel uprights, the Big Horn Tents boasts a free-standing cabin tent design that is sure to withstand all the elements and conditions that it's put up against. Forget...

User reviews

(UPDATED: 12/30/2016) -Amazing tent, still 5-stars!! I just wanted to update, since we have used the Browning Big Horn Family Tent for three camping seasons (2014, 2015 & 2016) so far. This tent has been amazing! We have camped in conditions with cold/hot temperatures, high winds, severe rain and hail. Yes, HAIL. The tent has held up beautifully, through all of our camping adventures, and I would still highly recommend this tent. In regards to the flooring, it did leak a little during our trip to Steamboat Springs. Considering it rained every single morning and afternoon/evening, it didn't actually leak until the day it hailed for 40 minutes straight. It wasn't light hail, it was torrential. I noticed it was coming through one of the doors, that was facing the direction of the hail. Not a problem though, the rest of tent did great. I called ALPS/Browning when we got back and the customer service was amazing, they said it shouldn't have leaked, and sent a replacement tent body the next day!! This was the second time, I had to call about a replacement part, the first was about a tension rod that had broken and they sent a replacement for that next day as well. Besides the tent, the customer service and warranty service agents are fantastic! An excellent tent, backed by a great company. Me and my family love this tent! We are so excited to start the 2017 camping season with the Big Horn Tent.(ORIGINAL REVIEW - MAY 2014)This past weekend, we were finally able to put the tent up for the first time, before going on a community campout this weekend in our HOA's backcountry. First, we put down our footprint (heavy duty reversible tarp from Costco) and then pulled out the tent, poles, stakes and rainfly. The instructions were very clear and concise, and are sewn directly into the storage bag so you don’t need to worry about it getting lost. Once we had the tent folded out completely, and all of the poles extended it took my husband and I, about 15 minutes to complete the setup (and we’re novices). The tent when it is complete is 10 x 15 feet, and a center height of 7’ 3’’. My husband is 6’1’’ had PLENTY of headroom all around the tent and not just standing in the middle. He does have to bend down slightly when entering the tent, but he didn’t find that to be an issue. The tent and floor material seem to be high quality and very durable for a $300 tent. It will have to withstand me, my husband, our 5 year-old daughter and 2 Samoyeds ( 45 lbs. and 85 lbs.).The tent can be divided into two rooms, each room on one side of the zippered divider panel has 3 pockets for storage. Each room has its own separate entrance, which we absolutely love! There is one hook in the middle, that can be used for handing a lantern. There are 6 windows (4 on the walls and 1 on each door). One thing I would like to mention, is that there are no tie backs for the windows on the walls or the door. Not an issue for us, but something to note when purchasing. In one room, we set up 3 sleeping cots which are each 75"L x 25"W x 16"H, and they fit perfectly, taking into account about 5 inches of space in between the cots and wall.I have attached pictures of the interior, since there are absolutely NONE on the internet. So, we hope these pictures give you a good idea of the tent.We love this tent so far, and are VERY excited to take it out!
This tent is AMAZING. We were staying at a campground in NC. It rained so hard all three nights, flash floods and everything! We woke to ankle deep water and even water running under the tent. Felt like we were on a water bed. But, we were dry! BONE DRY. Not a single leak. And it poured for about 5 hours each night! Also slept our family of 6 comfortably. I liked the divider for when someone needed to change. The zippers didn't get caught like other tents we have slept in. I would highly recommend this tent. Great price and my husband said it wasn't too hard to set up. You definitely need 2 people to set it up though. The tent itself is a little heavy but to be expected with that size.
This is the second tent we have purchased that is manufactured by ALPS. We have the Chaos 3 for backpacking and it has proven itself time and again. We thought we would try a bigger tent for car camping and we have not been disappointed. I'm gonna try and be brief but there is a lot to say about this tent. I list the PROS first: Very roomy, well ventilated, sturdy in the wind if guyed out properly, lots of space for gear. The CONS (to be clear we consider all these items minor in comparison to how well this tent served our needs) : There is very little built in storage space, only six small pockets on either side of the room divider, it can be set up by one person but if you want to start your camping trip with everyone in a good mood its best if two set it up, we did have a pretty severe storm (sleet, rain, 40+mph winds) and the driving rain does come under the fly but most people would have packed it in long before that happened. I highly recommend the footprint or a tarp for under the tent to protect your floor. It is pretty sturdy material but having that extra layer under the floor will really extend the life of this tent. We did have one pole break as a result of the storm and I have a request in to ALPS customer service regarding replacement parts. I will post the results of that when I hear from them. All in all we are pleased with this tent and cant wait to camp in it again!

View all reviews

ayamaya Camping Tents 4-6 Persons/People/Man Instant Cabin Tent with [6 Screen Windows], Waterproof Hydraulic Automatic Quick Easy Setup Ventilation Screenhouse Sunshade Canopy for Travelling Family

$89.99  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap 5 person tent: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of January 3, 2020 2:35 pm

Features

Item Weight17.64 pounds
Shipping Weight19 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; oxford; [ SET UP IN SECONDS FREE STRESS ] - The tent pitches in seconds, simply open the bag and let go, making the pitching process easy and enjoyable. No need to fumble with tent poles, or bother with complicated instructions. Tent comes in a...

User reviews

tall enough for some of 6 feet tall to stand in the middle of the tent. Fits a queen size air mattress with extra space walking besides. Sets up quick and easy, even if it's just one person by handling the poles. It almost set up by itself. Take down is easier with two to help stuff it back in the carrying case. There are windows on all sides, good ventilation, when you are inside, you can enjoy the view from all angels. one large door for easy excess. Door and windows inner layers are bug netting. So there is no issues with bugs getting inside as long as you keep it zipped up. With the door and winders outside layer closed, it seems to do a better job keeping us warm in a cooler weather. Worth every penny. I can't wait to take it to a camping trip!
When setting up the tent it was real windy out, gusts from 20-30 mph. and thank god I'd brought my backup 3 person tent. I was trying to stake one corner down while the wind was trying to pull the corner out of my hand. When I pulled back to stretch the corner against the wind the seems at the corner ripped out, leaving a 1 x 1 " hole in that corner. At that point there was nothing to stake the corner down. Set up my 3 person tent instead. The next day I was lucky I found a local seamstress that sewed the corner piece back on and no trouble with it after that. (It wasn't nearly as windy when I set it up the 2nd night, though, 10-15 mph. winds in Key West) The 2nd night in mine it rained fairly hard with 15-20 mph gusts. There was a small drip at the center and water dripped in from one of the windows next to my head so I wasn't impressed with it's ability to keep you dry. It didn't take long to figure out how to set it up and I did it by myself. The trick to doing it with less hassle is to put the corner feet in place one at a time and THEN you lift he center and extend the supporting rod and lock it in place. I would recommend this tent for medium or light rains and set up before it gets too windy if that's possible but that's a given. It did hold up well in the wind so there was no fear of it blowing over but definitely get some real tent stakes to replace the thin, flimsy ones that are provided. I immediately tossed them and used my old, sturdy ones. Walmart should have some and get a good, cheap, 2 lb. plastic mallet as well to drive them into the ground with less hassle. I have to say, I set up an inflatable queen size bed in mine and I had at least a couple feet to one side to walk around without touch my head to the top (I'm 5' 8"). Say good bye to crawling around on your knees with that set-up. I liked the tent when it wasn't raining/blowing hard.
Just put this tent up after 6 months in storage for first time. First off the fabric screen on the entrance door has about a 1 inch hole in it. Material completely missing. Going to put Gorilla tape on both sides and hope to fix it. Does not appear that it is running from the original hole. There is a video on YouTube you can watch how to set it up, but nothing I could find on how to take it down! And to download the video you have to be premium. So video it. The one page instructions included are entirely in Chinese (?). Not a word of English on them. Tried the recommended contact found at Amazon questions on the tent to get to the company video for this (mainly for the take down), and after numerous tries gave up. It goes to an email address where I guess they are supposed to return you the link address. Email did not bounce back, so not a fake one. On you own on this one! Tent still up and will hopefully figure out to take it down in several days. Also we are forecast for a lot of rain, but thankfully no wind. After this weekend, will update this review with my take down and rain experience. Let me add that it WAS extremely easy to set up with a helper. Hope take down is the same!UPDATE: We set it up and left it closed up a day before use. ad a pretty good rain/wind that night and in morning, about 1-2 quarts of water pretty much equally spread out between each side bu windows/door. A small amount in center (from where?). This was on flat grass, and no way one leak could have spread out like that. Seems like 3-4 different spotw. I suspect windows. There is no fly for this ten, so we borrowed a 10 by 10 tarp someone had and we put over top. Pretty much had rain on and off all weekend. and improvised fly helped. But hate to have to do this every time rain is forecast as pretty ugly looking.So I must say, yes, these tents leak when there is rain and wind. Hate to suggest, but get you a 12 by 14 blue tarp and if large rain forecast, stretch it over the top and attach to the posts with nylon ties. Other reviewers must be correct. The camping pros set up by us said this ten definitely needs a fly with all the windows. I believe them.Or just get a different tent. Would not purchase this again. And have yet to try and take down, as letting dry out inside before we attempt. And even lost the Chinese pictures/instructions as in the leaks the plain paper got wet. Hope just work backwards!

View all reviews

Some Review & Helpful Information video resource:

Coleman® FastPitch™ Instant Dome 5 Person Tent - EN

Ideal for weekend car campers, extended camping trips, scout troops and summer camp. www.coleman.eu.

Coleman® Cortes 5+ - Five person Family Camping Tent

Offering comfort on the go, the Cortes 5 Plus is a convenient, family-sized tent perfect for active campers. It features a full head-height sleeping area or large ...


We hope that our list helped you find your product. please leave a comment and share if you found this article helpful

Leave a Comment