Best cheap power amp: Reviews and buying advice 1

Best cheap power amp: Reviews and buying advice

Are you looking for cheap power amp ?. Here are our pick for cheap power amp. You can quickly check the list below and scroll down for the detail list to read more detail about the product and reviews from other customers.

Quick list for comparison:

Detail List for cheap power amp:

Professional Audio Bluetooth Power Amplifier - 2-Channel Rack Mount Bridgeable, LED Indicators, Shockproof Binding Posts, Cooling Fans 1000 Watt - Pyle Pro PTA1000

$134.00
$94.12  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap power amp: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of December 26, 2019 10:58 pm

PylePro Model : PTA1000

User reviews

Pros:Low PriceRack mountableDecent soundBalanced inputsBridge modeGround liftCons:Overstated wattageExtremely loud fansComments:I bought this unit primarily for the case (a bare rackmount case is well over the price of this amp) and particularly because it is so easy to retrofit with other components. It is a dual-mono design with amp modules and heatsinks on either side and a 33/33 toroidal transformer in the center with the power supply unit (PSU).First thing, the fans are NOISY!! If you've heard the expression "howl like a banshee", in comparison to this amp, the banshee would be near silent. Fortunately, the design of this amp is a single 2SC5198/2SA1941 pair for each amp and generates about as much heat as a 5 watt bulb under the worst conditions so unplugging the fans turns it into (... wait for it....) a very nice sounding 70w/ch amp.Speaking of 70w/ch, I put it on my test bench with an 8ohm dummy load and got 70w/ch before clipping set in. Quite an accomplishment. Bridge mode was not so great yielding only 107 watts but as with many amps in this price range, the small power supply capability hampers them.So how does it sound?? Well, pretty much like any other slow A/B solid state amp. It does not turn in a memorable performance with any music and in fact is quite undramatic. Perfect for background music. The Toshiba transistor pair is very common in a lot of low end equipment and for good reason.Now the bad.For me, I did not intend to use this amp for much other than a parts bin. In parts alone, this amp is worth three times the selling price but for those keeping it be aware that it is hampered by poor build quality. The amp modules are of low grade single layer construction and notably, already bowed despite being mounted on their side. The power supply board fares much better. Although did not remove it for a closer look, it is clearly of better quality than the amp boards. The best part is that the rear input/output board is monolithic and connected to the front panel so the amp modules have only power, speaker and pre-in leads. Perfect for a project amp!One last thing. The meter lights might have been useful but they're calibrated to light when it's too late. Once the signal light flashes, that's peak output before distortion rears it's ugly head. If you see the "vu" meter lights, it's distortion city. Since this chassis is used for other models, I suspect, they're not calibrated for the bottom end amp (which this one is).So that's it. I posted a photo of the internals for the hobbyists (hopefully, they didn't delete it). Hope you find this info helpful.
I bought this amp twice in one week - first one I purchased was dented and the fans didn't run, only channel A put out sound. Returned it to amazon, bought a replacement, opened this one... same problem, dented case, "void if opened" sticker was half peeled off and channel B was the only one to work this time..... from the looks of the reviews on this site, I am not the first, and probably won't be the last to be ripped off on "re-packaged" broken amps that obviously the manufacturer is trying to offload on the unsuspecting.... boo Pyle!!!!!
This is a great amp - period! I've read reviews on this amp - after I bought it! I have NO problems! I will admit that I am ONLY using it as my home entertainment amp [for now]. Nevertheless, THIS AMP is going in my studio as soon the wife goes to visit her sister. It has 2 cooling fans - that some reviews claim to be so loud and noisy. I've been running this amp now for 8 hours now and so far, I can only assume that these fans kick in when the amp is extraordinarily pushed, which stands to reason - due to the advertisement of it claiming 1000 watts!, etc... Well, how many decibels can the human ear withstand, before going deaf? Then again, if it's good music, it's a good way to go! :]

View all reviews

Rockville RPA5 1000 Watt Peak / 500w RMS 2 Channel Power Amplifier Pro/DJ Amp

$109.95  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap power amp: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of December 26, 2019 10:58 pm

Power Ratings: RMS Power Output: Stereo 8 Ohm: 2 x 125W Stereo 4 Ohm: 2 x 250W Bridged 4 Ohm: 1 x 500W Peak Power Output: Stereo 8 Ohm: 2 x 250W Max Stereo 4 Ohm: 2 x 400W Max Bridged 4 Ohm: 1 x 1000W MaxTerminals: Input Terminals: Combo jack (XLR and ¼”) A & B inputs RCA A & B Inputs Output...

User reviews

Shipped fast. Excellent packing job. Few major problems i need to state so hopefully the next buyer gets some help. First the instruction manual is beyond terrible. I bought this thinking it had a 150hz crossover. Doesnt work on bridged mono, Havent tried hooking it up the retarded way they say to to get it to work. I should have known vague instructions only mean one thing. Amp doesnt function the way a normal person with pro audio experience would expect it to.Granted it is cheap gear I get that. I needed a crossover and I assumed this thing had what I needed, because of budget limits I passed on the preamp and crossover, and a used Crown amp.. Mistake on my part. So two days before a gig I dont have my sub working. Not blaming Rockville for that, their piss poor excuse for an instruction manual/crossover IS their fault. Also the fans do a great job but are super loud. Plan on placing the amp as far away from you as possible. They have the audacity to claim they are low noise fans. Another red flag. All in all its ok for the money if you run 3 ways, but plan on buying a hot preamp and subwoofer crossover, which they could state in the ad/manual. Even if the xover worked, 150Hz is on the high side and muddys up subwoofers.They just conveniently left that out(or the translator guy in China needs a new job). How hard can it be to change up a manual. They're too cheap. Red flag. So what else are they cuttin corners on. Once again I realize this is cheap entry level pro audio. But I expect an amp that claims to have a crossover to work in all modes. Maybe its defective, 150 HZ is a crappy setting anyhooo. I have gigs to do and buyin a crossover is much easier than returning it. Major stress I didn't need guys! I have a 3 year replacement, so Im gonna run this sucker ragged! Bottom line, if you need a cheap backup for full range passive speakers, itll do. Not a good subwoofer amp, despite their claims. After you add in a preamp, crossover , cables, you are better off buying a used Crown and knowing what to expect. If you buy anything from Rockville, definitely get the insurance. Honestly can't trust this company to deliver on the hype. I ordered a 18" sub as well, the box looked like it fell out of an airplane and rolled 5 miles, the grill was caved in too.I guess repeat customers isnt part of their business plan. I'd be one colossal idiot to reorder after this. Sorry I had to be so blunt but it was a HUGE LETDOWN.Rockville RPA5 1000 Watt Peak / 500w RMS 2 Channel Power Amplifier Pro/DJ Amp
I purchased this amp to power my two Rockville subs for a gig I had on the 4th. I already had the Rockville 15" powered Power Gig speakers, but I felt that since it was such a large venue, I would need a little more bass response. I connected Each sub to the A/B 150Hz in the stereo position, and got some sound but not what I was wanted in terms of bass. I decided to connect one sub to the other, ad then put the speakon in the bridge. I flipped the button to bridge and put it in full range...WOW! I got the thump that I was looking for and more! This amp pushed those subs with little or no flicker on the limit lights. I played ten hours straight with no drops and clear nice bass response. I have seen a lot of negative reviews on this amp, but I can truthfully say that I am thoroughly impressed with the amount of power it puts out, especially in the bridged mode. I would and have recommended it to my fellow DJs as a great sub amp! I will only use it for subs, but in the A/B mode, it provides great sound for passive speakers. Well done Rockville!
The output of this amplifier is nowhere near 1000 watt Max. It is a very weak amplifier, and to top it off, the knobs operate backwards from what they are indicated to do. Going from + 24 to 0 decibels increases the output not decreases it. I finally got around to hooking it up far past my return window closing, because I work a lot and haven't gotten to it, so I just threw away $100. The peak voltage i reached bridged was 41v, so running the math, this amplifier peaks at 420 watts. Good news for potheads, bad news for trying to power a 4- 15" system.

View all reviews

STANLEY FATMAX PPRH7DS Professional Power Station Jump Starter: 1400 Peak/700 Instant Amps, 500W Inverter, 120 PSI Air Compressor, Battery Clamps

$149.99
$123.54  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap power amp: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of December 26, 2019 10:58 pm

Features

BrandSTANLEY
ModelPPRH7DS
Item Weight19.5 pounds
Product Dimensions16 x 13.5 x 6 inches
California residentsClick here for Proposition 65 warning
Item model numberPPRH7DS
Manufacturer Part NumberPPRH7DS
Cover IncludedPower Station

With the STANLEY PPRH7DS professional grade jump starter and power station, you can rest easy knowing you have all your power needs whether you are headed to the beach, campsite, or tailgate party. This compact, portable device with a low profile housing design delivers serious jump-starting...

User reviews

Aug 30, 2017 UPDATE TO THE UPDATE:Imagine my surprise today when I opened the door & found on my porch another unit sent to me by Baccus Global! I hope this one works well. I am charging and will post another update in hopes that it will help someone else in their purchasing decisions. This is a different looking unit, but basically like the other ones. Service was better than I had thought, and now I hope this unit is better than the other two!!!I purchased this unit in Sept 2016 from Amazon. I charged it per the enclosed instructions. After using the unit one time for my husband's CPAP machine during a power outage, it would not recharge. There is no option to return it to Amazon even though there is a one year warranty on this unit. I called the manufacturer, and they want me to pay to ship it back to them to be repaired. I am thinking with the weight of this unit, it would cost a good bit to ship it. If it does the same thing again, after one usage, I would be throwing my good money after the bad. I am weighing my options. Has anyone else dealt with this issue on this product with the manufacturer or Amazon?August 29, 2017 Update:Ok here's the update. I spent the $46.00 for shipping back the bad product, got another one on July 29th- won't hold a charge for more than 2 days. So I called them back after trying the charging process a 2nd time, did the same thing. I was told I'd get a call back for a return shipping label since the product was bad (again) when I got it. Then nothing, so I called again on Aug 25th, was told the same thing. Still no call back and no return label. My warranty will expire on Sept 2nd. so I guess they are waiting me out.
I love the brand and the quality of this power station. My only complaint, and the only reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five, is that you can't stand it up... it has to lie flat on the ground because of the inconvenient location of the charging cables. This sounds minor but it makes the storage footprint less than convenient.Later on next year (about 11 months later) I plugged it in to top it off for a trip. About an hour later it smelled like it was overheating and was smoking. It died, fortunately without burning my house down - it was very hot!
After 5 days of use, smoke started to come out and smelled like plastic burning. After about 1 hour later, the unit lost all power. It now does not power on at all.BEWARE: Amazon will NOT allow you to return the product through them! You must call the manufacturer who told me I had to pay $40 to ship it back to them. After explaining I just bough it and there is smoke coming out the representative said they would pay for the shipping. I suspect the manufacturer will ship me back a refurbished unit. I will update post when I get back the replacement.

View all reviews

Home Audio Power Amplifier System - 2X40W Mini Dual Channel Mixer Sound Stereo Receiver Box w/ AUX, Mic Input - For Amplified Speakers, PA, CD Player, Theater via RCA, Studio Use - Pyle PTA2

$48.45
$43.45  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap power amp: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of December 26, 2019 10:58 pm

PyleHome Model: PTA2

User reviews

Basically, the sound quality is OK considering the cost. My main disappointment isn't the quality of the amplifier but the misleading description of features. As part of the features they list "7 inputs"; " 3 RCA audio input for tuner, CD player, tape deck, camcorder or VCR, 1/4" microphone IN, 1/4" headphone jack, USB, AUX IN". This isn't true. There isn't an input for USB. The USB port on the front of the unit is only a charging port; something that is only made clear in the instruction manual (there is a label above the port that says "USB charge" but I was relying on the written description which, if they were to be more informative, should read "this port will only charge a battery and will not be of any use if you wish to listen to a USB connected device so if you plug in your MP3 you will grow old and die before you will hear anything so don't bother. Your battery will be charged up, however." I guess I should have been more skeptical. When is a headphone an input device?
It lasted less than 5 months.Their warranty requires you to mail it to Brooklyn at your cost enclosing $20, and if they find it was their fault, they say they will repair and return it.In other words, it will cost you about the same to get it fixed under warranty as you paid for it new. Meanwhile they have your $20 and the unit, and you take the risk whether it will ever be returned fixed.This is the 2nd such unit I bought from Amazon, and the first failed in about the same time. I was gullible enough to buy another new one, thinking chances are, it won't fail again --but it did.Don't buy.
Pros:- Affordable- Bluetooth capable- Compact sizeCons:- Constant buzzing sound from both channels, right side more when in Aux mode- Buzzing sound from right channel when in bluetooth mode- Considerable distortion (harmonic) above 1/2 of max volumeThe cons were immense. The buzzing sound was not faint, but so noticeable that you would stare at the speakers in disbelief. I tried swapping wires and speakers and the source was the amp itself.I sent it back to Amazon.

View all reviews

Home Audio Power Amplifier System - 2X120W Mini Dual Channel Mixer Sound Stereo Receiver Box w/ RCA, AUX, Mic Input - For Amplified Speakers, PA, CD Player, Theater, Studio Use - Pyle PTA4

$67.50  in stock
Buy Now
Best cheap power amp: Reviews and buying advice 2 Amazon.com
as of December 26, 2019 10:58 pm

PyleHome Model : PTA4

User reviews

This is a great little stereo amplifier with 3 RCA inputs for Aux 1, Aux2 and CD. There's also a high impedance microphone input (1/4" jack) and a spare Aux input (1/8" jack) on the front panel. The front panel controls are Input Select, Balance, Treble, Bass, Master Volume and a mic input level volume. Outputs are L & R speaker terminals, Record out (flat) and Phones. There are switches for Mixing the mic with main program material, a Pager setting for the mic, a On/Off power switch and a voltage selector (110/240). It's very well built, solid and looks high quality. Listening tests on quality speakers (JR149s) plus passive sub woofer sounds to me exactly as good as my normal home HiFi on different types of program material. It's subjective but honestly, I couldn't tell the difference so sounds great.Now for some technical stuff. As I have a digital scope & a sig generator I measured the frequency response into a resistive load (8 ohms) and it was as advertised (in linear region ie: no distortion). I ran a 1KHz square wave at several different levels (short of clipping) and the unit showed no signs of ringing or instability which is very good. Then for the not so good..... The unit is advertised as being able to source 2 x 120 watts into a 4 ohm load. My measurements showed using a 200Hz and 1KHz sine wave that just below the onset of clipping it would provide 18.4v peak into 8 ohms and 15.2v peak into 4 ohms which translates into 21 watts RMS into 8 ohms and 29 watts RMS into 4 ohms per channel. So in reality my unit provides 2x30 RMS watts into 4 ohm and NOT the 2x120 watts as advertised.Some manufacturers provide misleading power info by advertising PEAK instantaneous output power without stating that it's not true RMS power which is the only power that counts. Peak power divided by 4 equates to RMS power. You can't really say it's dishonest advertising so buyer beware!!So in summary, this is a superb high quality and versatile home stereo amp at an incredible price. Mine provides 21 watts RMS per channel into 8 ohms (which most home speakers are) and should provide years of listening pleasure at reasonable volumes.
This amplifier delivers great power and has all the features that you're expecting from the description. However, in the first unit that I bought, there was a noticeable, gain-independent hiss coming out of the speakers. This occurred even when the input was disconnected, and the speakers have been attached to other sources and not caused a hiss. Others have noted this hiss as well. Pyle was happy to exchange the amp, but the second one had the same hissing problem. The power and price are on point, but just hope you don't get one with this hissing problem.
Bought the first unit and two months later it would start cutting out. Turning the unit on and off several times worked for a while until it went dead altogether. Bought a second unit because the manufacturer warranty with pyle (not amazon warranty) requires you to pay for shipping there and $20 for a replacement unit and shipping back, which is BS bc I live about 5 miles away from where they ship!! This winds up being just about half or more than half the cost of the unit itself..so might as well buy a new one with amazon warranty. Less than a month later, same issue with it cutting out. My device was kept unobstructed and in a ventilated place, it's never moved, so it most certainly is not something i am doing. Do not buy. Or if you must, buy the insurance!

View all reviews

Some Review & Helpful Information video resource:

4 Best Audio Amps Under $100

FREE Speaker Build Plans - http://bit.ly/FreeCubePlans SPEAKER BUILD KITS & PLANS - https://goo.gl/9sCDdG KMA WEBSITE - http://kirbymeetsaudio.com ...

Seymour Duncan PowerStage 170 Demo | BEST POWER AMP FOR AMP MODELERS

Here's my demo of the Seymour Duncan PowerStage 170! Can't wait to attach this bad boy to my pedal board! Check out my original music!


We hope that our list helped you find your product. please leave a comment and share if you found this article helpful

Leave a Comment